Just another WordPress.com site

Thor and Priest Reviews

Alright, I got two new movie reviews today. The first film is the most recent addition to the Marvel universe of films, Thor. If you have read previous posts on this blog, you would know that I love comic book movies. My personal favorite series are the Batman films and the Iron Man films, along with X- Men: The Last Stand. This film is no exception. This film was amazing as a comic book movie. The film was directed by Kenneth Branagh, a wonderful actor and director known for directing many Shakespearean plays adapted to film such as Hamlet and Henry V. I could see some Shakespearean influence in this film as well. The film was completely based around the concept of sibling rivalry. Thor’s father, Odin, is played by Anthony Hopkins, an actor best known for playing Hannibal Lecter in the Silence of the Lambs, the role for which he won Best Actor for. Odin favors Thor and does not seem to care about Thor’s brother, Loki. I can also see a biblical influence in this story. I see an influence from the story of Cain and Abel. There is one brother, Abel who’s place is taken by Thor, who is favored by God, who’s place is taken by Odin. Eventually, Cain decides to kill Abel. Now I don’t know if this story was in the comic books, but I thought it was relatively well done here. The acting in this film was surprisingly good by nearly everyone who was in it.  Chris Hemsworth, a newcomer, is an Australian actor who played Thor. Hemsworth put on a great performance and I am looking forward to seeing him later this year in the remake of the Patrick Swayze classic, Red Dawn. Natalie Portman played a character whose name I can’t remember, but I believe was an important character in the comics. Overall, Thor was a really well made and I am looking forward to seeing The Avengers and a sequel? The other movie I saw was Priest and it was a very… not good movie. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it, but it was bad

Leave a Reply

