Just another WordPress.com site

Blog #3: Dead Silence

Hey, I’ve got some awesome stuff for you today, but first I got to address something. I have found a person to review horror video games. I’ve still got to work out some tweaks and such before I can get that part of the blog up and running. But again, I have found someone to do that part of the blog for me. Anyways, I’m going to get on with it!

You know who’s one of my favorite directors of all time? James Wan. He is a great artistic and visionary director who got fame and fortune after making a revolutionary horror film in Saw. This movie wasn’t solely based on violence until about Saw III. Sure, there was a graphic shot of a man sawing off his foot with a hacksaw, but that’s not where the movie shines. It shines in showing the claustrophobic nature that brings two men to work together just to escape from insanity. Saw is one of my all time favorite horror movies, but I’m not here to talk about that, I’m here to talk about one stinker of a movie that I thought was an insult to James Wan’s already stellar reputation. Dead Silence came out in 2007 and when I saw the trailer, I genuinely thought it look kind of creepy. It didn’t look like it was going to be a great horror movie. This was months before James Wan brought out another stinker in Saw IV. Anyways, the first thing that disappointed me was the fact that the ventriloquist dummies weren’t scary. When I was a kid, the Chucky doll from the Child’s Play movies would scare me. I thought Chucky was, to me, the Linda Blair of the 90’s. But, it’s gonna be a while before we talk about the Exorcist. I haven’t even seen it yet! Another thing that sucked about this movie is the inclusion of Donnie Wahlberg as a detective. Hasn’t the New Kid on the Block defaced enough movies already? Saw IV, I’m looking at you! Donnie cannot act. He’s as wooden as the dummies in the movie. The final thing I hated and the worst one overall was the plot. What ventriloquist would kill children just because they claimed to see her lips moving? A mentally insane one, that’s what! The stupidest thing is in this movie you can actually see her lips moving anyway. Overall, Dead Silence is a movie that wasn’t finished. Plans for a sequel were scrapped because the movie failed horribly. I’m normally against horror sequels, but this one needs one. GIVE US A DEAD SILENCE 2! To hell with it, call it Dead Silence: Resurrection if you want. Oh yeah, I’m giving them my full permission to use the most overused word in movie sequels. Overall, this movie sucks, but it has an open ended ending that deserves a sequel. Overall, half a star, but we need Dead Silence 2!

Alright, I’m out! The question of the day is: have you ever seen a movie that you thought should have had a sequel, but didn’t?

2 responses

  1. yes there is movie name “jumper” i love that movie so i wish that there is “jumper 2”

    November 26, 2010 at 7:57 pm

  2. Thanks for your opinion! I actually thought you might like to know that there actually is going to be a Jumper II!

    November 26, 2010 at 8:02 pm

Leave a Reply

