Just another WordPress.com site

Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part 1, My Thoughts

This Saturday afternoon, I saw a movie at the theater. Though it was not a horror movie, I still felt the need to express my thoughts on it. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows: Part 1. This movie was… pretty darn good. It actually exceeded my expectations. After seeing five and six, I had given up hope of seeing the next best movie in the series. I’m going to try and stray away from spoilers, but I may hint at things. I went to the theater by myself and just thought about everything I saw. I actually plan on seeing it again to digest everything. It was a step up from the tones of angst from five and six which in my opinion, focused way  too much on the one dimensional jerk side of Harry Potter. It focused too much on his personal life than the battle against Voldemort. That’s not to say there wasn’t anything stupid in this movie. There was lot of stupid parts, but the fact that they were so heartfelt made the stupid parts actually quite enjoyable. There were a few new people added to the cast who did a great job. Bill Nighy, who I felt deserved a part in the series since day one, makes his first appearance in the series as the Minister of Magic, Rufus Scrimgeour. I thought that Nighy was excellent as he is in every movie. Joining the cast was… I forgot his name as the ministry guy turned death eater, Yaxley. Overall, an awesome addition to the series. 3 1/2 stars!

Leave a Reply

